Gaios is a charming port town and spreads itself along the waterfront. You can enter Gaios from a northerly or southerly direction passing two small islands, the first at the mouth of Gaios harbour is called Panayia (Virgin Mary) on which there is a splendid white monastery. On the 15th August, Assumption Day the gates the monastery are open and everyone travels across by boat to the monastery to pay homage. Gaios harbour and the approaching inlet is very safe for overnight mooring for all types of boats. Water and fuel vehicles patrol on a daily basis. Payment for mooring and regulations can be obtained from the Port Authorities Tel.
The other St Nicholas Island forms a natural breakwater which leads to the picturesque inlet of Gaios harbour. On St Nicholas Island there are two small churches St Nicholas and St Ioannis and an old Venetian fort built in 1423 which for many years protected the area.
Gaios with its narrow lanes that lead off to many local shops and cafe bars.